Downgrade iOS 14.5 / iPadOS 14.5 to iOS 14.4.2 / iPadOS 14.4.2 [Update]

You can downgrade from iOS 14.5 and iPadOS 14.5 today

iOS 14.5 and iPadOS 14.5 is out for iPhone and iPad but you can downgrade to iOS 14.4.2 and iPadOS 14.4.2 if you are quick.

Apple is Still Signing iOS 14.4.2 and iPadOS 14.4.2, Downgrade from iOS 14.5 / iPadOS 14.5 is Possible

Update: Apple is no longer signing iOS 14.4.2 and iPadOS 14.4.2. Downgrade is no longer possible.

Related StoryOmar Sohail
A16 Bionic Die Shot Reveals Larger Area Compared to A15 Bionic, Increased Performance Cores L2 Cache, Same GPU Layout, More

The new iOS 14.5 and iPadOS 14.5 are packed with loads of new changes and improvements, something which many of us have been looking forward to. But, for any reason at all, you think you made a mistake updating to the firmware, you will be pleased to learn that you can downgrade back to iOS 14.4.2 or iPadOS 14.4.2.

You will need to be quick though as downgrades are only possible as long as Apple is signing a particular firmware version. Right now, iOS 14.4.2 and iPadOS 14.4.2 are being signed.

This will wipe your device clean therefore take a backup of everything using iTunes, Finder or iCloud.

Tutorial

Step 1. Download the iOS 14.4.2 or iPadOS 14.4.2 firmware file for your iPhone and iPad from the link below:

Step 2. Now connect your iPhone or iPad to your PC or Mac using a Lightning or USB-C cable

Step 3. Launch iTunes / Finder

Related StoryOmar Sohail
New MacBook Pro Models With M2 Pro, M2 Max, Reportedly Coming in Q4, 2022; Apple’s Market Share to Increase With Launch

Step 4. Click on the tiny iPhone-like icon once your device is detected in Finder and iTunes

Step 5. Now click on the Restore iPhone button while holding down the left Shift key (PC) or the left Option key (Mac)

Step 6. Select the IPSW file you downloaded in step 1

Finder or iTunes will now extract the contents of the firmware and restore it onto your device. This process may take up to fifteen minutes so be patient.

Once everything is complete, your device will boot into the Hello screen after which you can start to setup your device again or restore a previously created backup.

While you are here, check out the following:

WccfTech Tv
Subscribe
Filter videos by
Order