Downgrade iOS 13.4 to iOS 13.3.1 on iPhone and iPad [Tutorial]

Mar 28, 2020
Submit

Here's how you can downgrade iOS 13.4 / iPadOS 13.4 to iOS 13.3.1 / iPadOS 13.3.1 running on an iPhone, iPad, iPod touch.

You Can Downgrade iOS 13.4 to iOS 13.3.1 as Apple is Still Signing the Older Firmware for both iPhone and iPad

Apple unleashed the final version of iOS 13.4 and iPadOS 13.4 earlier this week and it is packed with great features, especially for those who use an iPad. But, despite the greatness the new update brings with it, there are going to be users who believe the new software is not for them. The reasons for that might be a mixed bag - bad battery life, sluggish performance on older devices or even jailbreak. The latter is something which users should really care about.

Enable Optimized Battery Charging on Apple Watch and Why You Should

Whatever your reason might be, today we will show you how to downgrade iOS 13.4 to iOS 13.3.1 running on both the iPhone and iPad.

Note: Backup everything to iCloud, iTunes or Finder as the downgrade will wipe your device clean.

Downgrade iOS 13.4 to iOS 13.3.1

Step 1. Download the iOS 13.3.1 / iPadOS 13.3.1 firmware file for your device and save it on the desktop.

Step 2. Disable Find My iPhone on your device (Settings > Apple ID > Find My > Find My iPhone) and then plug it into your computer using a Lightning cable.

Step 3. Launch iTunes / Finder.

How to Disable Home Control from Control Center in iOS 14 / iPadOS 14

Step 4. On iTunes, your device will show up as a small icon on the top left hand corner. In Finder, you'll see your iPhone / iPad in the left hand pane. Click to reveal more details.

Step 5. Press and hold the left Shift key (Windows) or the left Option key (Mac) and then click on the Restore iPhone button in Finder / iTunes.

Step 6. Select the iOS 13.3.1 / iPadOS 13.3.1 IPSW you downloaded in step 1 and let Finder / iTunes extract it.

Once the firmware file is extracted, it will then be restored onto your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch. Please keep in mind that this is the point of no return and the downgrade process has well and truly begun. Do not unplug your device or do something fancy with your Wi-Fi during this time. Let everything complete and if everything goes through perfectly you will land directly on the iOS / iPadOS Hello screen.

Downgrade iOS 13.4 to iOS 13.3.1 is only possible as long as Apple is signing the older firmware. Once it stops signing it, you have no choice to stick with the firmware you already have or iOS 13.4.

While you are here, be sure to check out the following:

Submit