Snapchat is Blocking Accounts with Snapchat-Related Jailbreak Tweaks

Posted 1 year ago

Earlier this week, we wrote about the latest feature in Phantom for Snapchat which allows users to change their Snapchat locations to anywhere in the world and use the geo-filter assigned for that location or events that’s happening within the location. Besides the obvious, Phantom for Snapchat is a popular jailbreak tweak that lets you do more things with Snapchat, adding features that were never offered in the first place. These amazing features include taking screenshot in silent, which means the person who sent you that Snap won’t even notice, view someone’s Snapchat stories without getting your name under the viewer’s list, sending images or videos from the, disable Live Stories, and much more.

It has come to my attention that one of my account was forced to logout and locked from Snapchat because I’ve Phantom for Snapchat tweak installed on this account. Many other jailbroken users are having the same issues with other Snapchat-related jailbreak tweaks. Just to clarify, Snapchat is not locking out users who have Cydia installed, it’s fine to use Snapchat while your iPhone or iPad is jailbroken, as long as it doesn’t use any jailbreak tweaks that could potentially add more features into Snapchat.


This is not an end to your Snapchat account, especially if you have a lot of friends and want to avoid the hassle of adding them back. Snapchat will not lock anyone out permanently, this is just a temporary warning. In other words, you will have to launch Cydia and uninstall any jailbreak tweaks that are related to Snapchat. Of course, something like GhostPref, Phamtom for Snapchat, and SnapMoreText will not be tolerated.


Once you get that out of the way, here is how you can get your Snapchat account back up and running again.

Snapchat Users Outraged After Seemingly Racist ‘Yellow-Face’ Selfie Lens Appears

How to unlock Snapchat account

  1. Remove all Snapchat tweaks from Cydia
  2. Go to and enter your Snapchat credentials
  3. Click on the big Unlock button


When performing this action, Snapchat will unlock your account instantly without making you wait. Even though I’m a big fan of a few Snapchat tweaks, I can understand why Snapchat is locking users out, as these tweaks could potentially violate one’s privacy. Now is just a warning, but in the future Snapchat can also ban your account.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit