How to Stop Your iPhone and iPad from Participating in the Find My Network [Tutorial]

Submit

If you want, you can stop (disable) your iPhone and iPad from participating in the Find My network for ‘privacy’ reasons. Here is how you do it.

Care About Your Privacy? You Have the Option to Disable Find My Network Completely on Your iPhone and iPad

The Find My network is great and all, but some might argue that is a bit of a privacy concern. Sure, it might be, especially if someone throws an AirTag in your car in order to track you using your iPhone or iPad itself. Thankfully, Apple has all the safeties in place to let you know that a rogue AirTag is following you so you can take action accordingly. But, same won’t happen if someone sneakingly plants an iPhone on you since it does not work like an AirTag.

2021 MacBook Pro Models’ SD Card Reader Do Not Support the Latest and Faster UHS-III or SD Express Standard

If you sit on the paranoid side of the fence and believe that this is too much to handle, then you will be pleased to learn that you can stop participating in the Find My network altogether.

But, there are obvious downsides to this. For example, once you turn the feature off, you won’t be able to find your own devices either apart from helping someone else find theirs. This is a huge risk, especially if you end up forgetting your iPhone, iPad, Mac or Apple Watch on a coffee table and casually walk out. If you understand these risks then follow the steps below and disconnect yourself from the Find My network completely.

Tutorial

Step 1. Launch the Settings app

Step 2. Tap your Apple ID / name at the top

Step 3. Tap on Find My

Apple Issues Mac-iOS Device Syncing Updates Through Software Update

Step 4. Now tap on Find My iPhone / iPad at the top

Step 5. Simply disable the Find My Network toggle switch. Confirm what you are doing

That is it, you are no longer a part of Find My and your device will not be used to piggyback location of other devices to their owners.

Personally, I would highly recommend keeping the Find My network on as it ensures safety for your own devices, making it easier for you to track them whenever possible. If you still want to go on and disable the feature, it is entirely up to you. Know the risks before making your decision.

While you are here, check out the following too:

Submit