Correct Way to Factory Reset iPhone before Upgrading to iPhone 14

Factory reset iPhone before upgrading to iPhone 14.

Planning to upgrade to the iPhone 14 when it comes out? Here's how you can properly factory reset your current iPhone before selling it.

If You're Upgrading to the iPhone 14, it's Important that You Properly Factory Reset Your Current iPhone Before Selling it or Giving it Away

We are extremely close to the iPhone 14 event, and excitement levels are at an all-time high. But, before you go ahead with the upgrade, you have to properly take care of the iPhone that's already with you. This means you have to thoroughly factory reset it so that it finds a new home without any issues at all.

Related StoryOmar Sohail
Apple Has Reportedly Rejected TSMC’s Chip Price Hike of 6 Percent, Decision Could Affect A17 Bionic, M3 Manufacturing

We'll make this a step-by-step process, and each step is super important before you reach the last one. And, we will highly recommend reading everything first before attempting anything at all, so you know what you will be going through.

Backup Everything

This is the most important step in the entire process. Back up everything using iTunes, Finder, or iCloud. Choose the route which you think is convenient for you. If you have tons of iCloud storage, then backup everything there, else choose iTunes or Finder.

We really can't emphasize this enough. Just take a backup of everything no matter what happens. Miss this step and your data is gone forever.

Turn Off iMessage and FaceTime

On your iPhone, go to Settings > Messages and turn off the iMessage toggle switch at the top. For FaceTime, go to Settings > FaceTime and turn off the feature. Please make sure these switches are turned off. Do a double take if you have to.

Related StoryAli Salman
Stage Manager is Coming to Non-M1 iPad Models

Turn Off Find My

This step is extremely important. Once Find My is turned off, the person you're handing over your iPhone to won't face the dreaded Activation Lock.

In order to turn off Find My, launch the Settings app, then tap on Apple ID at the top, and then tap on Find My. Now tap on Find My iPhone at the top and turn off the Find My iPhone switch from here. You'll be required to enter your Apple ID password. If you don't have it, you have to figure things out; otherwise, your iPhone will stay locked to your Apple ID, and there's no way around it at all.

Factory Reset iPhone

This is the easiest yet the most obvious thing to do. Just launch the Settings app, go to General > Transfer or Reset iPhone > Erase All Content and Settings, then tap on Continue. You will be required to enter your device passcode.

Once the factory reset is complete, you can hand over your iPhone to someone else or box it up if you plan to sell it.

WccfTech Tv
Subscribe
Filter videos by
Order