Sent Message To A Wrong Contact Or Group On WhatsApp? Don’t Worry WhatsApp Has Got Your Back
After waiting for this feature for more than a year, WhatsApp finally has it here for all of us. Yes, we are talking about the message recall feature that lets you delete the messages sent in the wrong group or to a wrong contact in your WhatsApp chat list.
The Facebook-owned messaging application has finally started rolling out the much-awaited feature to its user base of more than a billion. Now, you won’t need to go into a panic mode whenever you hit the send button for a wrong contact. The current delete feature on WhatsApp can be easily termed as redundant as it serves no real purpose as it only removes the message for the sender and not the receiver.
The new update introduces a new “delete for everyone” option that erases the message from the chat for all. It means that the receiver will now see a notification stating that the message has been removed by the sender. The new update has just started rolling out so it will take some time to reach every user.
Here’s what WhatsApp wrote about the new feature on its FAQ page:
To delete messages for everyone
Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.
Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.
You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.
One condition though…
Err, there is just one caveat though. This feature only works for the contacts who are on the latest version of WhatsApp. At this point, this may seem like a major shortcoming, but with time more people will get the latest update and then you can count on this feature to hide your messaging failures.