Intel’s LGA 2011 Platform will not include 8 Core CPU’s

Hassan Mujtaba

Another Slide has been leaked by which shows that the Intel's Upcoming LGA 2011 Platform (X79) won't consist of 8 Core CPU's. A slide leaked a few hours ago detailed that the upcoming Sandy Bridge-E Lineup would consist of Fully/Limited Unlocked variants of 6 and 4 Core Processors.

The Sandy Bridge-E (Codenamed - Waimea Bay) will compete against the AMD's Bulldozer based Zambzei Platform which consits of 4, 6 and 8 Core Processors. Intel is also releasing a 6 Core Extreme Edition Sandy Bridge-E CPU with unlocked multiplier and a L3 cache of 15Mb, Speed - 3.33Ghz.

The leaked Slide also details the key features of the upcoming platform:

Key Features:

  • 32Nm Sandy Bridge Architecture
  • 6 and 4 Core Processors
  • Large Intel Smart Cache
  • Integrated PCI-e I/O to control discrete graphics
  • Intel Turbo Boost 2.0 Technology
  • Intel Hyper Threading Technology
  • Advanced Encryption Standard Acceleration
  • Intel Advanced Vector Extensions


  • LGA 2011 Socket


  • 130W TDP

Chipset Compatibility:

  • Patsburg chipset

More Info on Sandy Bridge Processors here.


Share this story

Deal of the Day