How to View All Your Saved Safari Passwords in iOS

Author Photo
Dec 30, 2016
10Shares
Submit

Want to view all your Safari passwords that are synced with iCloud Keychain on your iPhone or iPad? Here’s how you can do just that.

Viewing Your Saved Passwords in Safari is Easy, All Thanks to iCloud Keychain

iCloud Keychain is a godsend feature on both iOS and Mac that keeps all your passwords in sync across devices. And while the feature does get the job done in a wide variety of situations, there are times where you would want to recall your password to be used somewhere else. If that is the case, then you might want to view your password in plain text form. Yes, you can do that, and it’s a simple matter of visiting a particular section in the Settings app. Here’s how you do it.

downgrade-ios-11-2RelatedHow to Downgrade iOS 11.2 to Earlier Firmware on iPhone, iPad, iPod

Tutorial

Remember, this tutorial is only applicable to those who have iCloud Keychain enabled. You can turn on the feature by going to Settings > iCloud > Keychain. Once enabled, up and running, follow the guide posted below.

1. Head over to the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.

2. Scroll down and tap on Safari.

3. Under the General section you’ll see an entry called Passwords. Tap on it, and you will be required to authenticate using either Touch ID or your passcode deleting on the type of device you have in hand.

downgrade-ios-11-1-2-mainRelatedHow to Downgrade from iOS 11.1.2 to iOS 11.1, 11.1.1, 11.0.3, 11.0.2, 11.0.1

4. You’ll see all your websites and passwords stored here. Tap on any entry to view the password.

Remember, while the feature is extremely handy and useful in a lot of ways, it’s highly recommended that you keep a strong passcode to keep things absolutely watertight from prying eyes. We really wish Apple threw in a second layer of security here before the passwords could be accessed like on macOS, where you are required to enter your administrator password to view anything at all.

iCloud Keychain comes in handy when you have multiple devices and a handful of accounts which you want to access on the fly. But it’s recommended to have the feature enabled only if you the devices are in your possession only and on one else’s.

You don’t want anyone else seeing your private accounts, do you? Of course you don’t.

Submit