How to Turn Off Live Text Feature in iPhone, iPad

Submit

You can turn off the Live Text feature on your iPhone and iPad which was introduced with iOS 15 and iPadOS 15 last year. Here's how.

Learn How to Disable Live Text on iPhone and iPad in Photos for Selecting and Copying Text

Apple's Live Text feature is extremely handy if you love the convenience of copying text straight from an image. Just open up any image at all with text in it and select the text as you would in a regular text-based document. You can then copy it to the clipboard and save it anywhere. It's extremely handy and works like a charm every single time, even if it's handwritten text.

Apple Previews New Apple Watch Mirroring, Door Detection, and Live Caption Accessibility Features

While it is a great feature to have, but it can be annoying for some people out there.

Imagine yourself in a situation where you want to double tap on a photo to zoom in, and instead of zooming in, your iPhone or iPad simply selects a line of text instead, forcing you to either try again or tap in an area where text doesn't exist. Thankfully, you can turn this feature off completely by going to Settings. It literally takes just a few seconds and we will walk you through the whole thing right now.

Turn Off Live Text on iPhone and iPad

Step 1. Launch the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.

Step 2. Now tap on General.

Apple’s AR Headset Problems Get Highlighted in Latest Report, Which Go Back Seven Years

Step 3. Open up Language & Region.

Step 4. Simply turn off the Live Text option here.

If you ever feel the need to use the feature again, simply go to Settings > General > Language & Region and then turn on the Live Text toggle switch.

For me, this feature is extremely handy and I leave it turned on at all times. There was a time when I decided to turn it off because I thought it was annoying. But when the moment came to select text, I was scrambling all over the place wondering why the feature wasn't available when I needed it the most.

Of course, I had disabled it and completely forgot about it.

Do I recommend leaving this feature turned on? Absolutely. It's proven to be extremely useful for me, especially in use-cases in which I want to save phone numbers from business cards or copy text from one place to the other.

There is also a chance that this feature might not be useful for you at all. But who knows, one day you might just need it!

For more helpful guides and tutorials, head over to this section.

Submit