Untrust All Computers On iPhone, iPad – How To Guide

Uzair Ghani
Posted Aug 31, 2015
12Shares
Share Tweet Submit

Here’s how you can ‘untrust’ all computers (Mac/PC) on your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch. This is a great step to take if you want to boost your device’s security.

IMG_0016

Whenever you connect your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch to your PC or Mac, iOS will ask you if you ‘trust’ that very computer. The reason for that is actually pretty simple: as soon as you tap on that ‘Trust’ button when prompted for it, you’re basically granting access to everything that lies in your device, with connections taking place over WiFi or USB both. If that’s the case, then it’s a good idea to only trust those computers which are yours and yours only, hence ‘untrusting’ everything else is the way to go. And we’ll show you how to do just that right from your iOS device.

Untrust All Computers On iPhone, iPad

1. Launch the stock iOS Settings app from your device’s home screen.

2. Now tap on General.

IMG_0011

3.¬†Scroll all the way down and then tap on ‘Reset.’

IMG_0012

4. You’re now presented with a list of options. Look for the one that is labelled ‘Reset Location & Privacy.’ Tap on it.

IMG_0013

5. You’ll be required to enter your passcode, provided you have one in place, in order to take things further. Tap on ‘Reset Settings’ to confirm your action.

IMG_0014

Your device will reboot and all the ‘trusted’ computers will be ‘untrusted’ once you boot back into iOS. Also keep one thing in mind, in case you’re wondering, this option will not delete anything off your device, so you can rest easy in that regard.

Enable / Disable Silent Clicking on MacBook, MacBook Pro, Magic Trackpad 2

As soon as you plug in your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch to your PC or Mac once again, you’ll get the ‘Trust This Computer?’¬†dialogue box. Simply tap on the ‘Trust’ button and you’re good to go, or ‘Don’t Trust’ if that’s the route you’re willing to take.

Given how things stand in the security world, we highly recommend that users take extra precautions when giving their iOS device to someone just to sync a few photos or anything else. Who know, their computer is infected by a WireLurker like malware that is waiting to bite its pray as soon as you plug in that USB cable.

A simple case of being vigilant can absolutely go a long way in protecting your data, and the first port of call if you want to keep yourself as secure as possible is by putting a passcode in place, and of course, top it off by turning on Find My iPhone by going to Settings > iCloud > Find My iPhone.

Found this tip useful? Then be sure to let us know in the comments section below.

Share Tweet Submit