Stop WhatsApp For iPhone From Saving Incoming Media Automatically

Uzair Ghani
Posted 8 months ago

Here’s how you can prevent WhatsApp for iPhone from saving incoming media (photos and videos) automatically onto the device’s Camera Roll.

WhatsApp main

Even if you fail to admit it, we all use WhatsApp on a daily basis, sending texts, photos and videos to our loved ones, or maybe just our colleagues. In short – WhatsApp has truly become an important part of our lives, keeping us connected with everyone at a moment’s notice. But in all that ‘connectivity’ noise there are certain annoyances that come as part and parcel with WhatsApp, such as the service’s default ability to save everything straight onto your smartphone without even asking the user. While some may consider that as a great feature, but for some it can be a nightmare, as it gobbles up storage while also flooding our Camera Roll with photos and videos which we never asked to save in the first place. Thankfully, you can turn that feature off swiftly on your iPhone, and we’ll show you how in today’s guide.

Disable Automatic Saving Of Incoming Media On WhatsApp For iPhone

1. Assuming you have WhatsApp installed on your iPhone (download link), launch it from your home screen.

2. Now tap on the ‘Settings’ tab at the bottom right corner of the display.

3. You’re now in the Settings pane of WhatsApp. Look for an entry that is labelled ‘Chats,’ and tap on it.



4. Here you’ll see a toggle switch called ‘Save Incoming Media.’ Simply turn it off and WhatsApp will stop saving incoming photos and videos onto your device.

How To Prepare Your iPhone, iPad For iOS 10 Beta - Guide


Turn the switch back on to revert things back to how they were. Plain and simple.

The ‘Save Incoming Media’ feature could prove to be quite handy for a lot of users as it negates the need for saving photos and videos manually onto the device. But at the same time, it can become a nuisance as ‘garbage’ can start to pile up in your Camera Roll as you keep on using WhatsApp. It’s totally the user’s call how they want to go about their business, either with the feature turned off, or on.

On a personal note, however, I would prefer keeping the feature turned off, as it might even end up saving battery life and data if you’re on the move. If those two things aren’t in your priority list at all, and wish to receive everything straight into your Camera Roll, then leave everything turned on.

If you found this guide useful, then be sure to drop a comment in the section below.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit