Reset iPhone, iPad Without Losing Your Data Or Apps – How To

Uzair Ghani
Posted 1 year ago

Here’s how you can reset iPhone, iPad, iPod touch back to its factory settings without losing your apps or other precious content onboard. This is a constructive method of going back to factory defaults without worrying that you’ll lose anything.

Reset iPhone

There are times where you want to go back to factory settings on your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch. Mainly because performance has become sluggish, or maybe you tinkered around with iOS’s settings beyond the point of repair. But the problem is, most users would want to go back to factory settings, but they don’t want to lose any of their installed apps or their content such as photos, videos, music etc. Sure, you can take a backup of everything using iCloud or iTunes, and restore things how they were using Apple’s desktop music management software. But in a lot of cases, that is just not possible for the user. This is where iOS’s ‘Reset All Settings’ option comes in to save the day, and we’ll show you how you can utilize it in a complete step-by-step guide.

1. First of all, launch the Settings app from your iPhone or iPad’s home screen.

2. Scroll down to ‘General’ and tap on it.


3. Now you’re going to scroll all the way down until you see the ‘Reset’ option. Tap on that as well.



4. You’re now facing a bunch of different options pertaining to reseting your iPhone or iPad to its default state. But over here, we’re only interested in ‘Reset All Settings.’ Hence, tap on it.

Set iPhone To Use Cellular Data For Automatic Downloads - How To


5. If you have a passcode in place, then iOS will ask you to enter it, so do so when you’re prompted for it. Now simply tap on ‘Reset All Settings’ written in red, and you’re good to go.


The process usually takes a few minutes depending on how much content you already have on your device. But once it’s complete and your iOS device has booted up, the settings will be back to their factory state, and all your precious content such as apps, photos, videos etc. will be right in place, completely untouched.

Like we mentioned above, this setting should be used only when you don’t want to lose anything on your device. If your device is in a state where things have really hit the fan and you have backed up everything already, then we recommend that you go for the ‘Erase All Content And Settings’ option, which will delete everything on your device, including your apps, photos and videos, bringing back the device as it was out of the box.

Looking to delete old iOS backups to free up space in iCloud? Then be sure to check out: Delete Old iCloud Backups On iPhone, iPad, Mac To Free Up Space.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit