Remove Instagram Followers Without Blocking or Informing Them – How to

Author Photo
Feb 18, 2017
10Shares
Submit

Ever wanted to remove your Instagram followers without blocking them? Here’s how you can on your iPhone or Android device. This method is only applicable to private accounts.

Remove Your Instagram Followers Without Hurting Their Feelings or Blocking Them, Here’s How

Over a passage of time, if you are a regular Instagram user, you will accumulate a handful of followers and content. But there might come an instance where you are forced to make your account private, and do a little spring cleaning to keep prying eyes at bay from your personal photos and videos. But, while making an account private is a good step to take, but all your current followers are still able to see your posted content. So, the obvious thing to do here is remove those unwanted followers. And you will be pleased to learn that you can do so without blocking them. Basically, they won’t even know you kicked them out until or unless they discover it themselves by going through their following list.

apple-tv-tv-app-mainRelatedSet Siri Remote Home Button to Take You to Home Screen Instead of TV App

Tutorial

Note: This tutorial is applicable to private accounts only.

1. Assuming you have a private Instagram account, launch the official app from your home screen.

2. Now tap on your profile tab and then select the Followers option at the top.

title-10RelatedApple Now Has An Official Instagram Account For Promoting ‘Shot On iPhone’ Photos

3. Here you will see a list of all the people you are following. Find the person you wish to remove without blocking.

4. Once found, tap on the three dots icon next to them. Then tap on Remove once the pop-up comes into view. Do this for the rest of the followers you wish to remove without blocking.

And that’s how you remove your Instagram followers without having to block them. Easy, right?

This feature was baked into Instagram back in December of last year. It makes sense too why this feature is available on private accounts only since a regular account can literally be followed or viewed by anyone. Even if you end up kicking out a follower, it’s rather pointless. Blocking, in that case, is the way to go. But then, of course, some people might consider that a little too extreme.

It’s your account, folks. Do all you can to protect it.

Submit