How to Enable ‘Ask Before Deleting’ Feature in iOS Mail App

Author Photo
May 8, 2017
11Shares
Submit

Here’s how you can set the iOS Mail app to ask you whenever you are about to delete a message by turning on the Ask Before Deleting option.

Never Accidentally Delete a Message with ‘Ask Before Deleting’ Option Enabled

We tend to delete garbage emails in bulk without much supervision. While we are it, we end up deleting an important email message or two. Unfortunately for us, the stock iOS Mail app doesn’t offer any confirmation before you delete a message at all. That’s the default behavior out of the box. Luckily though, there’s a simple Ask Before Deleting toggle switch in the Settings app that changes that. Once enabled, you will see a confirmation box before getting rid of the message for good. Here’s how you can enable the feature right away.

fix-ios-11-wifi-issues-mainRelatedHow to Fix iOS 11 WiFi Issues on iPhone & iPad – Guide

Tutorial

Before you begin, it’s worth mentioning here that this feature works with the stock iOS Mail app only. Third-party email clients such as Outlook and Gmail have features of their own which you can alter right from within the app itself.

1. Launch the iOS Settings app.

2. Scroll down and tap on Mail.

3. Under the Messages section there’s a toggle switch called Ask Before Deleting. Tap to turn it on if it’s not already.

ios-11-battery-life-saving-tips-2RelatediOS 11 Battery Life Saving Tips for iPhone & iPad Users [Guide]

Now launch the iOS Mail app and try deleting a message from there. You should see a confirmation prompt like the one below.

You no longer have to worry about accidentally deleting an email message from here on in. A simple prompt like the one above goes a long way in ensuring that important messages don’t slip under the radar and straight into the trash.

The only downside of this feature is that it might not bode well with those who love deleting a ton of emails on a regular basis. Face it, coming across a confirmation message over and over again can only become annoying after a certain period of time.

Personally, I think this feature should be enabled by default. There have been a lot of instances where myself, and others, managed to delete a ton of important messages without realizing it at all.

Submit