⋮    ⋮  

Final Fantasy VII Remake for PS4 to be Annouced at E3 2015

Posted 1 year ago

Siliconera claims that a legit Final Fantasy VII remake will be announced for PS4 at E3 2015. Siliconera does seem quite the reputable source when it comes to Japanese gaming. It is currently unknown whether the announcement will come during Sony’s E3 2015 press conference or Square Enix’ own briefing.

There is a possibility that Sony is funding the project, as Square Enix has previously stated that it would be too expensive for them to do it on their own. The remake is being done to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the game.

Final Fantasy series producer Yoshinori Kitase, speaking about a potential remake in February, stated:

“I can honestly tell you I would love to do that,”

“If you simply ask me if I personally would like to do that, yes I would. Definitely. There’s no lie about it. But you must believe me when I say it would take a lot to happen. Even if I casually say I would like to do that, because it would be a huge project I would have to motivate myself to the level that I really am prepared to take on this huge responsibility,”

“I don’t know if those three things will happen simultaneously. It has to tick lots of very big boxes. I won’t rule out the possibility, but it would take a lot to make it happen. But should I ever take it on, it would have to be the biggest project I’ve done. My life work. So I would have to be as highly motivated as that to end up with something I’m very happy with. It’s a huge thing for me.”

The Final Fantasy VII remake is considered a rumor

This is still a rumor, so until we get an official announcement during either Square Enix’ or Sony’s press conferences, it’s better not to get our hopes up. Still it would certainly be something if it turns out to be true, as fans of the original have been looking forward to a proper remake for some time.

It Seems Like Sony Is Skipping Gamescom Once Again

Square Enix released a teaser video of its E3 2015 line-up, which lists Final Fantasy XIV: Heavensward, Just Cause 3, Deus Ex: Mankind Divided, Dragon Quest Heroes and Life is Strange. Plenty of surprises are being teased as well.

Deus Ex: Mankind Divided, which was introduced with a magnificent cinematic trailer, had very little information revealed about it so far, and a complete lack of gameplay footage. Kingdom Hearts 3, similarly made no appearances for some time, and after the transition of the game to the Unreal Engine 4, fans have been eager to see Kingdom Hearts in action. The hugely anticipated Just Cause 3 will surely be making an appearance at the show.


Square Enix recently released the transcript of its financial results, outlining the plan for fiscal year 2016. CEO Yosuke Matsuda explained the company’s IP policies, stating that the company plans to strengthen and reboot existing IPs.

First is to strengthen and reboot our existing IPs. We would like to focus on how to utilize the numerous assets of content that we have nurtured so far, and apply them to the latest trend. As for the platform, we would like to use consoles and smart devices in parallel. Just focusing on one platform is not enough. We believe it is significant to serve both platforms, if we are to offer game content and services that appeal to the new generation.

Japanese gaming magazine Famitsu, tried to get some information from the publisher regarding their E3 conference and the Square Enix representative responded with the following:

“At this year’s E3, we’ll have our own conference for the first time after two years, where we’ll deliver to everyone the rich line-up of the Square Enix Group. What we’re going to show off at E3 is unprecedented in the history of Square Enix, with a strong line-up in which each can be considered a centerpiece.

Since we plan to stream the conference live, it’ll be at night [in Japan], but please watch it!”

The publisher promises their biggest line-up ever for E3 2015, so we can expect to see more of the already announced titles, and have a lot of new announcements and surprises.

Final Fantasy XV Day One Patch To Introduce Camera Improvements

Sony’s press conference will take place on June 15 – 6pm PT / 9pm ET / June 16 – 2am BST / 11am AET, while Square Enix will have their event on June 16 – 10am PT/ 1pm ET / 6pm BST / June 17 – 3am AET.

We will bring you any new information from Square Enix, Sony and E3 2015 as soon as it becomes available.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit